Hekate and Me

I wanted to preempt a upcoming post by saying a little bit about Hekate.

image

Artwork by Georgi Mishev

When I became aware of Sorita d’Este and her then up coming publication Her Sacred Fires (HSF) I found myself reading more about Her and I  began to work with her. After a number of powerful personal experiences I dedicated myself as Her Priestess in 2012.

image

Hekate Shrine 2011 - personal photo © Victoria Newton

I’ve come to understand Hekate as a goddess of many guises. She is the bright coiffed maiden who leads Persephone out of Hades; she is the key-bearing mistress of mysteries; and she is the cthonoic goddess of crossroads and shades. She has many titles,  honours and functions and is able to engage with her devotees on so many different levels.

Hekate has led me down many paths and to different people who have helped in my spiritual and personal development. She has also introduced me to other Gods and Goddesses who have also helped my on my path

One deity She introduced me to is Heket,  the frog headed goddess of birth, death and rebirth. It has been interesting to work with and learn about this gentle goddess both as an achedemic and spiritual exercise. Egypt is an early love of mine but this is the first time that I have worked with an Egyptain deity. My next post will elaborate on my work her Heket’s connection (or more accurately lack thereof) to Hekate.

image

Heket Abundance Shrine - personal photo © Victoria Newton

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Magick and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hekate and Me

Leave a Reply

