Blankets Galore

I love modular projects, especially blankets. Making things in stages really works well in my busy life.

It’s a new year and a new blanket fir me but I thought I’d share some of my 2013 projects.

image

Personal Photo © Victoria Newton

I made this using the granny hexagon pattern from Attic24. It’s a perfect single person sofa blanket and has been designated the sick day blanket by the girls. The original idea was for it to use up some of my yarn stash but it never really made an impact but the colour on black certainly did.

image

Personal Photo © Victoria Newton

I also tried my hand at the solid granny square and made a small baby blanket which will go with me to my next stall.

This year I intent to really impact on my stash by doing a square-a-day blanket using a traditional granny square. I got my inspiration from a square a day project which used colours representing the weather each day. Given where I live I decided that would result in a mainly grey and black blanket so it will be whatever colour I choose.  I suspect my stash might expire before its finished.

Im also working on a blanket for one of the girls bed. I’ve got 20 squares at the moment … I have no idea how many I will need, but it will be a vision of green and cream. What a fun year ahea

image

Personal Photo © Victoria Newton

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blankets Galore

  1. those are gorgeous! I’ve always wanted to learn crocheting, is it very difficult? I remember my mom showing me as a kid, but I don’t remember how to do any of it.

    • knotmagick says:

      Not too hard, I’m mostly self taught between books, magazines and the internet. There are lots of treat YouTube tutorials and photo tutorial blogs out there. Attic24 is one I’ll mention a lot as it is a quality site. There are quite a few crochet specific magazines that come with kits so starting out doesn’t have to expensive either.

      • Neat! I’ll have to look into it 🙂 thanks 😀 I saw a really cute crocheted hat on a facebook-share that had patterns of different hats inspired by Star Wars. I would love to learn so I could make the one that looks like Twi’lek Lekku hahaha 🙂 that one is super cool. 😀 (I’m such a nerd..LOL)

      • knotmagick says:

        Raveley is great for patterns like that. I made a Yoda for a family members birthday present last year which was fairly awsome 🙂

      • Cool I’ll have to find that one and bookmark it too 😀 thanks 😀

  2. Totally gorgeous, these great colours are so warming in these cold winter months.

Leave a Reply

