Call of the Acorn Eaters

I wrote this for one of my early rites working with Pan and it rather prominently proclaims my attachment to the term ‘god of the acorn eaters’ which I’d like to explain a little bit.

According to Borgeaud the phrase, along with the term proselenoi (meaning ‘those who proceed the moon’), was applied to the Arcadians in reference to their ancient and barbaric origins (relative to the advanced Greeks at least). Proselenoi may be a reference to an Arcadian attack during a moonless night, or reference to them taking the land from an older civilizations which did not recognise Selene as a moon deity. The term ‘acorn eater’ was either an insult regarding the economy and society of the Arcadians or a reference to their culture predating cultivated grains.

Whatever the origin both terms speak to my love of prehistory and the prehistoric cultures. Certainly in paleo and mesolithic Britain, and presumably at the same time in Greece as well, acorns were common fare to hunter-gather communities, forming a staple and important source of starch an acorn flour predates any form of cultivated grain flour. On the other hand a moonless night would be a blessing to hunters wanting to take pray unawares to ensure the kill.

They resonate with me as I try to understand this half wild god that suddenly crashed into my life. He is a liminal being that unites the wild and apparently uncultured world of the hunter-gather with the civilised Athenians of Greece, proud of these ancient terms that mark him as such. IO Pan.

Hear me god of the acorn eaters, blessed beast of Hermes’ loins I raised my voice in praise.
Io Father Pan, hear my voice deep in your woodland groves and COME!

You who are father and protector, come from your woodland haunts and dance on civilizations edge.
Io Father Pan, hear my voice deep in your woodland groves and COME!

Your ecstatic dance I join, in your frantic music I rejoice.Your love and lust of life draws me on.
Io Father Pan, hear my voice deep in your woodland groves and COME!

This moonless night I give myself to you Oh Pan, I am your child,  I am your follower. You have called and I have come.
Io Father Pan, hear my voice deep in your woodland groves and COME! IO Pan IO Pan, COME! COME! COME!

image

Illustration from 'The Faerie Queen' by Walter Crane - 1897

References
The Cult of Pan in Ancient Greece by Phillipe Borgeaud.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Call of the Acorn Eaters

  1. Pingback: Pan | Knot Magick

Leave a Reply

