C is for Crochet

image

Crochet is magick, people might think that I am a little strange to be say it but its true. If you’ve ever been hooking away at a Granny Square and had the Goddess tap on your shoulder you will know what I mean. There is nothing more meditative than a repeating pattern and its not unusual for me to find myself in a trance state and my mind open to suggestion. I also find that I am more free in mind to write rituals and chants whilst I am working and alwas have something to hand to jot ideas down on.

One of my first experience of Hekate outside of ritual was whilst I was making a cushion cover using a granny square pattern. I found myself walking the halls of a local hospice with Hekate as she guided the dead to the next world and came back to find myself still stitching.

Its also possible to work crochet into spell work and craft learning.  If you can chat ‘treble treble treble chain’ under your breath then why not something else? Admittedly I do think that the answer to every pattern problem you will ever have can be solved by a granny (be it stripe,  mandala, triangle, square, hexagon so on and so forth) so repetitive patterns are my staple and they lend themselves to chants rather well.

For example,  I’m currently working on a blanket using the Summer Garden Granny Square pattern from Attic24 which is an eight spoked wheel within a square. As I was working I found myself chanting and immediately had to down tools and jot it down.

The wheel is turning
The year moves on.
The wheel is turning 
With my song
From solstice to solstice
And rite to rite
The wheel is turning with all its might
From Imbolc to Ostara, then the Beltane fires burn,
With the solstice the wheel is half turned,
On Lamass and Mabon to All Hallows Eve,
the Yule fire marks the start of the year. 

A friend who spins her own wool (much to my envy) and I once discussed the the binding of intent into the work itself. You can do this by intent or by chat and works with both positive and negative emotion. I often focus my intent upon something that I am making as a gift, embuing it with positive wishes for the recipient.

On the flip side crochet is a great way to rid yourself of anger and confusion. I have found myself literally muttering imprecations as I place my stitches and there is nothing more therapeutic then frogging (ripping out) that entire section.

A more structured spell that I like to do is to take a small amount of black embroidery thread and a small hook (2.5 – 3mm) and make up a swatch using double or triple crochet. As you work focus on the problem or negative emotion and bind it into the stitches. Once finished take it out side, ideally somewhere exposed to the wind, centre yourself and begin to frog the work, seeing the negativity released and blown away from you.  Once the entire piece is frogged loosely add the thread to a tree to be blown away,  if its particularly large chop it up into a multiple of three and spread it around a little. Once it’s been left turn and leave,  leaving behind your problems and negativity.

I’m a committed hooker but the same theories can apply to kniting, sewing or any other craft that involves weaving so enjoy yourself.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Crochet, Hekate, Magick, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to C is for Crochet

  1. Jennifer says:

    I absolutely LOVE the idea of frogging out a problem!!!! Gods know, I’m always ripping out and redoing sections so it would be a nice change to be doing it for a purpose. And I imagine the local birds must appreciate having yarn to make their nests with.

    Thank you for sharing such a great idea. I want to go dig out my yarn and start crocheting again!

  2. TurningTides says:

    That’s a great way to get rid of negativity! Crochet helps me concentrate and calm down, but it does bug me to keep that energy bound in something when it’s not good. Though, I usually ended up ripping that part out anyway because of a mistake somewhere in there.

    The crochet chant is also very strong. I don’t celebrate the WotY, but I can see it as a centering prayer.

    • knotmagick says:

      The WoTY chant is just a recent chant among many more personal ones and really came as to me as a teaching chant but it would work well as a centering chant. My feelings are that chants and spells are most powerful when you write them yourself, even if you are just adapting the work of others to suite your purpose so I’d tend to suggest people write something of their own. Thank you for enjoy my blog x

  3. faetigre says:

    I have felt similarly about the meditative qualities of knitting, I’ll have to look into it more after this post!

  4. syrens says:

    Reblogged this on Urban Meliad and commented:
    Reblogging this from Knot Magick: A post about the potential for trance, intentionality, Wandering, and spellcraft in fibre arts. This one’s about crochet, but as a knitter, spinner, and (sometimes) weaver, this has potential across the spectrum of these arts.

  5. Ravensong says:

    I also chose crafting as the topic for this week’s PBP blog. Glad to see other minds that went the same place. I enjoyed (and agree with most of) your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

