Got Ink?

image

People get tattoos for many reasons, such as honouring a life event or someones memory, and I think that they can have great power when they are carefully thought through. I’ve always loved seeing people’s tattos and getting ideas and inspiration but I didn’t get my first tattoo done until I was in my late 20’s. I think I spent two or three years doodling before I finally put ink to skin so I spent a lot of time thinking about it. I don’t know about anyone else but is a little addictive and I’ve been contemplating my next (two) for a few months now and I’m not planning to get another done any time soon.

I have four tattoos in total including both my daughters names on the insides of my wrists and a triqueta behind my left ear. These are all commemorative of births and a death have no spiritual undertaking associates with them, although it is often assumed that the triqueta is a visible sign of my faith.

My only devotional/spiritual tattoo (to date at least) is on the inside of my left forearm, a large ornamental key with a scroll wrapped around the shaft bearing the name Ekatè.

image

I am still waiting to complete this tattoo with scroll work in white. © Victoria Newton

This is the tattoo which sums up not only my strongest experience of Hekate but is a reminder that not only should I trust my instincts and that I should consciously open my own doors and not have doors opened for me.

Despite being my most visible and larges tattoo it was the easiest one to decide on, because the vision I was given was so strong and clear. In a vision I was gifted a large key with paper wrapped around the shaft which I took up with my left hand, which being right handed is counter intuitive for me. In the days following I had my eyes well and truly opened on a number of fronts and strongly believe that my vision was a forewarning to pay attention to what was going on around me. As a result I steped away from being lead down paths that were not entirely of my choosing and started down an independent one. Although I am still finding my way I’ve found the path o have chosen is one better suited to my life as it is now, and I feel no more pressure or demand than that of my God and Goddesses and myself.

image

Astrological glyph on birch wood - © Victoria Newton

I’m thinking of working with my tattoo artist on turning this astrological sigil into my next tattoo. It needs some work to get it right but I think it would be perfectly placed between my shoulder blades or at the base of me neck.

It came about as a result of doodling although it does have personal meaning for me. The balancing of Mercury’s action and communication with Saturn’s staying power and attention to time is important to me as I need the energy to move forward and patience to stay the course. In my natal chart Mercury and Saturn appear in Scorpio, my sun sign, though I only discovered this after I created the glyph, and I am going through my Saturn Return. I have also emphasised Mercury’s horns until they are almost lunar, and would look to reinforce the appearance in the final tattoo, to represent my Goddess and the entire glyph is topped by a seven pointed star (honest that’s not just a seven pointed astrix) to represent all of the Seven Deathless Stars and Hekate’s heavenly attributes. The only thing I would change is I’d like to incorporate Scorpio in there, probably in Mercury’s circle, just to make it a bit more personal.

I’ve created a new Facebook group called Pagan Tattoos as a place to share spiritually inspired tattoos, please come along and check us out.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Magick, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Got Ink?

  1. I’ve been working on my spiritiual tattoo for years! Well I know what I am going to get. However it is the placement on my body that is holding me back. Just not sure where to place it. The placement of your tattoos, what made you decide on the inside of your wrists and the back of your ear?

    • knotmagick says:

      My wrists were my first tattoos, with my girls names on the insides and vine and leaves around the wrist. It was pretty much a decision based on being inconspicuous, most people mistake them for bracelets initially. The triqueta’s placement was an agreement between myself and my sister as we were commemorating my mothers passing in 2006. Our local palliative care hospice where she passed used the triqueta as it’s logo. Given its size and my wrists were already taken behind the ear seemed like a good unobtrusive location.

  2. Nice to see I am not the only one who thinks “I” is for ink! It is my post for next Friday!

Leave a Reply

