Yarndale!

Yarndale! I don’t think another event could be as wooly and sparkly although I might be biased being a Yorkshire lass myself.

Hosted in the Skipton Cattle Mart and the brainchild of Lucy of Attic24 this is the second Yarndale to take place. Any kinks from the year before seem to have been ironed out and it’s been a wonderful colour event that I’m already looking forward to next year.

image

As well as the bunting and mandalas from around the world we were treated to petting sheep, alpacas and angora rabbits and lots of wool, fiber and finished products. There was also a brass band (well, it is Yorkshire) and I loved chatting with all the exhibitors as I filled my stash and emptied my purse. We met Freyalyn of Freyalyn’s Fibers, which really impressed my eldest Freya-Lynne, as well as watching the experts at Spin CityUK at work and learn how to use these new pompom making contraptions in the kids corner.

image

The kids had so much fun, as you can see from the photos, and I spent so much money (also evidenced in the photos!). I was pricing up an upright spinning wheel on the sly as I went round. Realistically I only have space for an upright wheel and it might be a reality after a bit of hard saving and space making.  I watched a number of exhibitors using their spinning wheels and it was fascinating.

image

In addition to my fiber draw being stuffed out I’ve also bought a couple of kits for Freya to try her hand at. Her Peg Loom has been set up in her bedroom and she’s tackling making her own scarf. She also has a card braid maker from The Braid Society and if she enjoys it I will look at getting her something a bit more solid in wood.

I also realised, watching her with the pompom marker, that Freya has the same odd ball ambidextiarity that her dad has. 90% of the time she is right handed but every now and then there is a task that they can only complete left handedly. I tried to make a pompom holding the maker in the same way she did and my brain just couldn’t compute yet she was just bombing it. I think I am going have to watch a few left handed tutorial video’s with her and see what happens.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Crochet, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

