Takeout Cup Cozy

Oh boy life is busy busy. Between our traditionally ‘mad week’ over the first week of November, conflicting shifts and my new Coursera course I’ve been rushed off my feet. I have been pottering on a couple of different things and with the written portion of the course looming I think I have two or three posts stashed away to cover the gap.

image

I’m also well on my way with my ‘stained glass’ granny strip blanket, aka the Coursera blanket as I’m working on it as j listen to the course material. Just got to add an edging a’la Attic24 and then I can move on to the ‘princess’ gloves as requested by my niece and daughters (my nephew wants Bumblebee ones so three pairs of pink and one black and yellow it is).

We’re getting into that time of year generally when the rushing really starts in the last few shopping weeks before Christmas. Someone was telling me recently that the retailers start planning as early as August! Blerg its bad enough when they are replacing Halloween displays with tree decorations before the ‘big day’ has actually happened.

If I’m participating in the madness in the city centre I usually take some time out get myself a hot coffee and a bag of roasted chestnuts and and retrieve some of my sanity. As I can be horribly last minute, and that’s not just confined to Christmas, I’m always on the lookout for quick and easy presents to make.

Whilst surfing around Ravelry I found MK Caroll’s Coffee Cup Cozy   which looked perfect for but in making it I found that as written the pattern didn’t work for me. So I got my pen and paper out and adapted it to fit a standard ‘regular’ size takeout cup.

All credit to the designer or the link above for the original pattern, and I have added some extra hints and tips to the pattern and written the pattern I used in my own words.

‘Regular’ Takeout Cup Cozy

image

Materials
3.5 mm hook
Odds and ends of DK yarn (I used acrylic wool whilst MK Caroll used cotton. Whatever you use may affect the pattern so refer to the Other Notes section)

Stitches Used
Chain
Slip Stitch
Half Treble

Other Notes
I found eight rounds worked for me but if you want to make a wider band the pattern is two normal rounds followed by an increase round. Personally I prefer to end on the second normal round but it is up to you.

As for tension, I am naff at it, so you might find the pattern as is too tight or too loose (i.e. sits too high). Best way to adjust it to your own tension is to chain up an approximate length, complete the first two rounds and test it around a takeout cup (perfect excuse to go get a coffee *wink*). Once you have a working length you can work out how to place the increase by subtracting 2 and dividing by two. Remember that the number of stitches on the increase row will always be two more than the preceeding round. Easy to do if you are working with even numbers but if you are using odd numbers then you will need to pick which side has the higher number of stitches and stick with it. When I was testing the pattern I found a 36 chain rode a little too high on the cup for my personal preference and 34 too fiddly to add to a full cup of coffee which is why I chose to do it with an odd number.

Also note you might want a longer starting chain for ‘large’ takeout cups so the cozy sits higher. I would suggest a 37 or 38 chain but see what works for you.

Pattern
Chain 35 and join in a ring with a slip stitch being careful not to twist it.

Round 1
Chain 2, htr into each stitch of the foundation chain, slip stitch into first chain (35)

Round 2
Chain 2, hrt around slip stitch into first chain (35)

Round 3
Chain 2, 1htr in the same stitch, htr in next 16 stitches, 2hrt in next stitch, htr in next 17 stitches, slip stitch into first chain (37)

Round 4
Chain 2, htr around slip stitch into first chain (37)

Round 5
Chain 2, htr around slip stitch into first chain (37)

Round 6
Chain 2, 1htr in the same stitch, htr in next 17 stitches, 2hrt in next stitch, htr in next 18 stitches, slip stitch into first chain (39)

Round 7
Chain 2, htr around slip stitch into first chain (39)

Round 8
Chain 2, htr around slip stitch into first chain (39)

Bang easy as that. Fasten off your loose ends and you are ready to go. You can change colours and make it stripy or add an appliqué to jazz it up. I used this Granny Snowflake pattern and stars (aka the ‘opps I forgot a cluster’ snowflake) for a seasonal taste or little owls but you can get creative.

As an awesome little aside (as patterned) these are also great wide band bracelets. Someone I gifted one to wears it on her way to get her morning coffee and carries on the way back around the takeout cup.

You can use this pattern for charity, to gift or sell and can share it on but please credit me using a link back. Not only does it maintain my rights but let’s people track back to my inspiration (I’ll stop banging that drum right now).

Have fun with the pattern and good luck with the dreaded bun fight also known as Christmas shopping. Watch out for more crochet patterns in the near future, as I’ve got a second adaptation partially written up, as well as ones on Witch Bottles and Four Thieves Vinegar so plenty to fill the gap.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Crochet, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

