As Above, So Below

The Pagan Experience asks –

What do you seek from the Divine?
How is that reflected in the mundane?
Where do you find your place of synthesis?

More weighty subjects to reflect on. I’ve struggled with this subject, mainly because I attempted to grapple with Hermetic concepts with a head cold. I struggle with Hemeticism at the best of times but my stuffy head hasn’t helped any. I’m not a thurgurist or a ceremonial practitioner so whilst I understand the concept around the edges the deeper meanings elude me.

In essence the phrase “As Above, So Below” grew out of the larger quote from The Emerald Tablet of Hermes Trismegistus:-

“That which is Below corresponds to that which is Above, and that which is Above corresponds to that which is Below, to accomplish the miracle of the One Thing.”

It is used to explain that all things that happened on one level or plane of existence occur on all levels. What happens in the macrocosm can be seen in the microcosm (and visa versa). What is seen in the Heavens can be seen on Earth (and visa versa). More critical to this discussion is that with this maxim comes the understanding  that Man on Earth is a reflection of God in Heaven (… and visa versa).

That’s probably enough for now (or more accurately as much as I can manage) so I’m going to move on, I’m sure your Goo-fu is as good as mine.

What do I seek from the divine?
I seek many things from the divine. A lot of these things are around knowledge and an achievement of understanding. This might sound limited to the academic but it includes knowledge and understanding of myself and the people around me. I am looking for the beauty of the divine in my own life and understanding amongst other things.

I seek their guidance and support. I look to my divinities for guidance in matters that are too complex for me alone. I also seek their support in moving forward in the things I do.

How is this reflected in the mundane?
When an opportunity to learn opens up to me, that is the divine helping me. When a discussion starts that is them providing that opportunity. Insights and learning might come about through many means but I am directed to these lessons by those divine forces involved in my life. Signs and indicators which are subtle but powerful are often the way that the divine shows itself in my life. A bird calling or behaving strangely, something appearing suddenly or without reason at just the right time are all ways that the divine shows itself in the mundane world.

Where is my place of synthesis? Connected to the whole or connected to the divine
As well as that mundane display of connection described above my point of synthesis with the divine is in those liminal moments and spaces. Being a devotee of Hekate I am particularly aware of liminal spaces such as sea cliffs and shore lines, boundary spaces where we pass from one state to another. As well as those physical locations I feel the strongest connection in those same mental liminal spaces. That point between waking and sleeping, dreams and meditation are times where I am most open to the divine and their influences. 

image

The Sign of Creation, Manifestation, and Materialization

My favourite pictorial description of “As Above So Below” is this hex by Lee R. Gandee. It appeared on page 115 his 1971 autobiography, Strange Experience and is known as the Sign of Creation, Manifestation, and Materialization. It is an affirmation of  ‘As above, so below’. It symbolises man’s ability to create through mental and spiritual action whilst the flanking symbols are Earth-Star signs and invoke all the good things of earth and earthly joys.

For me the crossed point on the symbol is that liminal point where the divine and mundane worlds cross and it is a point that can be accessed through meditation and dreaming. It is that point at which our creative powers are at their peak and from it we can achieve creation on both planes.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Magick, The Pagan Experience 2015, Witchcraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

