Hekate’s Prayer Ladder

Following on from my Three Times She Cried post from last week I am sharing the prayer I wrote to be used in conjunction with the Heketean Prayer Ladder She inspired me to create.

image

When I came to design my prayer ladder/pendulum I want to make it a journey through all that is Hekate. I needed to feel a balance in its construction, acknowledging that she has many guises and roles as well as taking the user through a metaphorical journey through Her three realms.

After some thought and consideration I came up with a flowing set of epithets which would fit around the keys and plans I already had as well as what colour and style beads I should use. For example I used gold banded beads to highlight the Orphic connections of the epithets they are associated with, and then matched colour with broad perception of the other epithets.

The pattern and progressive journey soon emerged from the fog and the Words soon emerged.

The end result is a journey from Heaven to Underworld, or from Underworld to Heaven depending on the order used. The prayer could form the basis of a meditative journey as well as a structured devotion to the Goddess.

I honour 11 different epithets through the prayer. That’s nine plus one assigned to each of the ‘charms’ at either end of the ladder. For more detail on the meaning of each epithet I recommend visiting Singing for Her as the go to reference for Heketean epithets . The epithets honoured are as follows;

Kleidoukhos
Ourania
Soteira
Phosphoros
Propolos
Einalian
Propylaia
Nyktipolos
Psychopompe
Chthonia
And
Anassa Eneroi

Blessed Kleidoukhos Keeper of the Keys
I invoke you
Opener of Ways and Keeper of Knowledge
Guide me in understanding.
To you, Divine Mistress, I open my heart and my mind.

Heavenly Queen, who looks down on us from the starry skies;
You are our saviour, our guide to the stars.
The brightest light, your sacred flame burns;
It is you who draws us onwards.
From Heaven to Ocean and to the Earth below;
At the portal you greet us
And lead us through our darkest hour.
Gather our spirits to your coterie;
Earthly Queen, who guards the hidden knowledge.

Anassa Eneroi Mistress of the Dead
I name you
Dread Queen of Crackling Flames
Calling me to your Mysteries
To you, Infernal Goddess, I give honour and Praise.

As I mentioned earlier this ladder can be used in either direction. Below is the revered order of the Prayer rather than making you rationalise it all out yourself.

Anassa Eneroi Mistress of the Dead
I name you
Dread Queen of Crackling Flames
Calling me to your Mysteries
To you, Infernal Goddess, I give honour and

Earthly Queen, who guards the Hidden Knowledge;
Gather our spirits to your coterie
And lead us through our darkest hour.
At the portal you greet us;
From Earth to Ocean and to the Heavens above
It is you who draws us onwards.
The brightest light, your sacred flame burns;
You are our saviour, our guide to the stars;
Heavenly Queen, who looks down on us from the starry skies.

Blessed Kelidoukhos, Keeper of the Keys
I invoke you
Opener of Ways and Keeper of Knowledge
Guide me in understanding
To you, Divine Mistress, I open my heart and my mind

I intended for my prayer ladder to double up as a pendulum and have done so to interesting effect. I’m looking forward to building a stronger relationship with this tool of the craft. Keep an eye on my Tools of the Trade post on Pendulums in the near future.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Hekate, The Pagan Experience 2015, Witchcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hekate’s Prayer Ladder

  1. Pingback: Pendulums | Knot Magick

Leave a Reply

