Harvesting

The Pagan Experience asks ….
Harvesting! In any spiritual pursuit there are times of planting and seeding and times of harvesting what has gone to fruition. How do you recognize what is ready to be cut down? How do you discern what needs to remain for more ripening? How do you move through your harvest in a productive way?

image

Corn Dolly

Sometimes I look at the questions posed by the Pagan Experience and wonder what they mean, or better yet what was the thought process behind it. Clearly the festival of first harvest,  Lughnasa/Lugnasad/Lammas, has just been celebrated has inspired the question but I find it hard to relate harvest to spiritual matters.

I understand talk of harvesting spell work, that is setting a spell and either nurturing or ignoring it until the appointed time of harvest. And there has been much talk around me of ‘gathering in’ of  family in all senses and I am aware of the need to cut away those things that no longer serve but this talk of spiritual harvesting has me a little confused.

I might be seeing the cart before the horse; harvesting is an end result of a much longer process from planting to germination through nurturing to full growth. I have to look at this in terms of the research that I have been directed to do in recent months.

The seed has always been there, to learn more about my Mother Hekate, but since the start of year there has been a drive to branch out and to produce ‘something’ from it all. The final harvest will be when that ‘something’ takes on a recognisable shape and form; for now I am still growing, though I throw off the occasional early fruit in the form of blog posts.

How will I know when it is time to harvest this product? Honestly I don’t know I’m hoping that by the end of this year there will be something recognisable to its form. We were almost there a few weeks ago when I gave my talk and in truth that harvest has been made in full and is stored away, however a critical eye saw the rot and a it was necessary to tear out much by the roots and replant it in a different way, actually massively increasing what work I will need to do. I’m told that’s an important part of the creative process and whilst satisfying was intensely irritating especially as it planted new seeds even as I harvested some others.

Image Credit
Corn Dolly

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

