30 Days of Devotion to Lilith – Part 3

21) Music that makes you think of this deity
Music is not a strong element of my personal praxis, and did not appear in my work with Lilith. So far I don’t have a peice of music that invokes Her.

22) A quote, a poem, or piece of writing that you think this deity resonates strongly with

Lilith Speaks: A Dramatic Monologue by M. Kelley Hunter contains a number of very beautiful pieces of prose to Lilith so I’ve just chosen one;

To Woman:
How beautiful are thy feet, O Daughters of the Moon!
In the joining of thy thighs is a jewel.
I am wild like the wind. Yes!
Thy navel is like a round goblet filled with wine.
Thy belly is like a heap of wheat set about with lilies.
I live in trees, I kiss serpents. Yes! Thy breasts are like two young deer that are twins.
Thy neck is as a tower of ivory.
Thine eyes are like the fishpools by the white harbor.
My passion for life is boundless. It is the same as yours.
Feel it!
Let it fill you with your power and beauty!

23) Your own composition – a piece of writing about or for this deity
To follow…

24) A time when this deity has helped you
I worked with Lilith during my pregnancy after being guided to her through circumstance and Hekate. She helped me understand not only her nature and the nature of working with strong, independent female forces but she prepared me to parent two little girls of that nature, one being her own namesake.

25) A time when this deity has refused to help
Lilith isn’t really interested in me, in truth she was more interest in my children and my role as their mother. She has never refused to help me because we are both clear on the boundaries of Her involvement in my life. Certainly, when I am tearing my hair out with my own little hellion invoking Lilith’s name is usually what gives me the strength of will to carry on.

26) How has your relationship with this deity changed over time?
I am not as closely connected to Lilith in comparison to my links to Hekate and Pan. Perhaps this is because that after an initial half year of working closely with Her I felt no direction to follow her further, the lessons she had for me were imparted and our paths diverged. We no longer work together, I make no active offerings to her but how far can she really go with her namesake in the house?

27) Worst misconception about this deity that you have encountered
Vampires, sparkly or otherwise. It feels like a Dungeons and Dragons fantasy tale to suggest that she is the Mother of Vampires. Fine in fiction and UPG but I can’t see why there is a connection with Lilith and Vampires in what I have read and experienced so far. I am quite open minded, if someone can point me into the direction of credible or even historical evidence of Lilith being the Mother of All Vampires then I’ll certainly give it the critical once over but until then I’m going to stick with Akasha on this one and leave Lilith as the Queen Mother of All Demons.

28) Something you wish you knew about this deity but don’t currently
There is so much that we don’t know about Lilith in the historic context, and there is so much I haven’t experienced of her because my work with her is so limited. Were I called to work with Her again I would love to simply learn and experience more.

29) Any interesting or unusual UPG to share?
At this stage I have no strong UPG which could be termed as unusual although I do not find her an enemy of women and children, at least if you are honouring her. I do find the link between her name and the flower used to symbolise biblical Eve interesting.

30) Any suggestions for others just starting to learn about this deity?

Books
Historical Lilith
Lilith – The First Eve: Historical & Psychological Aspects of the Dark Feminine by Siegmund Hurwitz

Book of Lilith by Barbara Black Koltuv

The Hebrew Goddess (Jewish Folklore & Anthropology) by Raphael Patai

The Case for Lilith by Mark Wayne Biggs

Astrological Lilith
Living Lilith: Four Dimensions of the Cosmic Feminine: The Four Dimensions of the Cosmic Feminine by M. Kelley Hunter

Interpreting Lillith by Delphine Jay

The Dark Moon Lilith in Astrology by Ivy M. Goldstein-Jacobson

Websites
Lilith
Lilith the First Eve
Lilith the Real Historical Origins
Lilith and the Shekhina – The Quaternion Marriage
Readings on Lilith
Gilgamesh and the Hulupp-Tree
Male and Female, He Created Them
Lilith Resurgent
Lilith, Seductress or Murderess
Tree of Souls
Lilith Gallery

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Devotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

