Teachers

The Pagan Experience asks…

Who has most inspired you in your craft? This may be an individual you have trained with or someone who you know only from the efforts and great works they have modeled.

Okay. I do not feel that I can name names in this case. This is not because I am oath bound but rather that those who inspire me and have taught me so much about myself and my practice are private individuals and it is not my place to bandy their names about on the internet.

These people, who have taught me, and continue to teach me, have brought me to many realisations about myself and my practice and most importantly encouraged me to develop along my own path, Thanks to them I am the indefinable magical practitioner that I am today.

They know, or should know that I am eternally thankful to them for what they have taught me, and continue to teach me, both formally and informally.

What I will say is that you don’t find teachers by asking for them. You find them by asking questions and listening to the answers you are given, even if they are contrary to what you may already think/believe.

image

You also need to be highly critical when assessing those who present themselves as teachers (or authorities). Any teacher who responds to questions by saying “its my way or the highway” without engaging in explination or discussion, or who resorts to name calling or attacks first rather than having any form of discussion, is someone to be wary of. Those who uses every teaching opportunity to sell their product/work without displaying comprehension of the content is not really a teacher at all, they are an opportunist of one kind or another.

I could go on and on however the point is this – trust your instincts. If something feels wrong it probably is.

The greatest teachers are those who whisper in your ear and speak to your heart rather than those who attempt to shout the loudest.

Just because someone shouts the loudest doesn’t meant they shout truth or wisdom.

I’ll close by sharing this post by ChaosWitch, because teaching/learning isn’t just about the teacher, the student has a role to play too.

Image is of SybillY Trelawney (Emma Thompson) and is from Prisoner of Azkaban.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in News, Rant, The Pagan Experience 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

