Defining My Craft

I was searching around for a blog project for 2016 and coming up short until I remembered “The Practice of Witchcraft Today: And introduction to Beliefs and Rituals” by Robin Skelton. This book was one of those “fortuitous finds” that occasionally happen in my life, on this occasion on my first trip to Aqua Sulis (Bath) and upon recalling it I found the seed of inspiration.

In short review, the book was originally published in 1990 and although it shows it’s age at times the author takes a fairly no nonsense approach to explaining witchcraft. I like to pick up books that were published around the time I was first coming to witchcraft (the 1990’s) if not before as most recent publications were influenced by these older works. I also find that they are usually a little better at referring their reference material and making reading recommendations and “The Practice of Witchcraft” is one of the good ones. I particularly liked section one, which is entitled “Answering the Questions”. As well as covering the normal FAQ’s you may expect to find in any introductory book there were sone unexpected ones and I realised that the format, with a little tweaking, would make a great personal blog project which would allow me to define both for myself, and seekers who may find my blog, what the Craft is to me.

On reflection there will be a little cross over with my Tools of the Trade series and that some subjects I have already covered in previous postings from the list two years but that was to be expected.  I’m not a fool, and I do intend to incorporate any previous posts in with the project rather than duplicate anything. That said I intend to work through these questions one by one and week by week over the course of the year. Perhaps I will sneak posts about Hekatein sn amongst my postings from time to time.

Let’s see where this takes us Dear Reader.

If you are a blogger and are interested in participating in this project please visit the dedicated page I have created for this project.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
This entry was posted in Defining My Craft, News, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

