Spring Foraging

The Equinox has past and it is time to get foraging for those yummy spring greens.

As you can see, out favourite foraging patch is in full swing. Storm Doris brought down a number of trees in the area but the growing season hasn’t been too badly effected. I am being extra careful with how much we gather this year, and from where.

This year have made Wild Garlic Salt, which can be used in all sorts of ways but particularly in this lovely tear and share Wild Garlic Bread recipe. It was as yummy as it looks. This wild garlic salt can be substituted in any recipe that calls for garlic salt (like the stuff you buy in the supermarket) and in its own right as a marinade. I am also planning to infuse wild garlic in olive oil which will be frozen to use as pre seasoned cooking shots.

I was also somewhat fortunate to find myself some floof. I’m not sure what else to call it.

Walking home with the kids we came across a quantity of animal molt. It is either dog or rabbit, but either way it was perfect for spinning in the grease. I picked out the big peices of dirt by hand and was able to get the rest of the loose by carding it with my little hand carding paddles. I didn’t wash it, because spinning in the grease is a lovely experience, despite how it sounds, and as you can see I got a good half spindle from it.

I have no real end plan for this. I did contemplate using it as a single for weaving but I am not decided. The other thought in mind is that I could ply it and make a little charm pouch. We shall see.

However you decide to participate in nature’s bounty, enjoy.

About knotmagick

Weaving Magick and Crochet in the madhouse I call home. I am a devotee of Hekate and a follower of Pan.
Aside | This entry was posted in Food, Foraging, News, Spinning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

